The Sacco-Vanzetti Award for Social Justice

In virtually each year since 1976, the Community Church of Boston has presented the Sacco-Vanzetti Memorial Award for Contributions to Social Justice to outstanding activists in the peoples’ struggles.

The following recipients have been recognized:

1976    William M. Kunstler
1977    Florence H. Luscombe
1978    Scott and Helen Nearing
1979    William L. Patterson
1980    Willard Uphaus
1981    Roger N. Baldwin
1982    Sara R. Ehrman
1983    Eddie James Carthan
1984    Cynthia Anthonsen Foster
1985    Donald G. Lothrop
1986    Cesar Chavez
1987    Mildred S. Olmsted
1988    Truman J. Nelson
1989    Anna H. Morgan
1990    Martin N. Gopen
1992    Leonard Peltier
1993    Margaret F. and Daniel B. Schirmer
1994    Juanita and Wally Nelson
1995    Elizabeth Peterson and David Dellinger
1996    Dirk J. Struik
1997    Anne Burlak Timpson
1998    School of the Americas Watch, received by Nicholas C. Cardell
1999    David Rothauser and Charlie King
2000    Howard Zinn
2001    Ruth Hamilton
2002    Harry Landfield and Jane Polley
2003    Rachel Corrie
2004    César Cauce, Michael Nathan, William Sampson, Sandra Smith and James Waller
2005    Lynne Stewart
2006    Mumia Abu-Jamal
2007    Chuck Turner
2008    Jim Harney
2009    Mel & Joyce King
2010    Truth and Justice Radio
2011    Arnie King
2012    Tarek Mehanna
2013    Peter Van Buren
2014    Tina Chéry
2015    Kathy Kelly
2016    Medea Benjamin
2018    S. Brian Willson
2019    Cindy Sheehan